Plenary Speaker

2017 ANACHEM Plenary Session


Paul S. Cremer, Ph.D. − 2016 ANACHEM Award Recipient
J. Lloyd Huck Chair in Natural Sciences
Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Penn State University, State College, PA

Paul Cremer received his Ph.D. in Chemistry in 1996 at the University of California – Berkeley. He then spent two years as the Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University before beginning his own independent research career in 1998 at Texas A&M University, where he became a distinguished professor and Arthur E. Martell Chair of Chemistry. In 2013, he moved to Penn State University as the J. Lloyd Huck Chair in Natural Sciences where he currently holds appointments in the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. His research is at the cross roads of physical chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, materials science and engineering. His group has exploited linear and non-linear vibrational spectroscopies to follow the interactions of ions with peptides, proteins, and macromolecules. This has helped unravel the molecular level mechanisms of the Hofmeister series, a rank ordering of how salt ions affect the physical behavior in mixtures of water, organics, and salts. His group has also invented a wide variety of high throughput, low sample volume microfluidic techniques. For example, he is the inventor of temperature gradient microfluidics as well as pH modulation sensing for the label free detection of peptide, small molecule, ion, and protein binding at lipid membrane interfaces. Most recently, his laboratory has pioneered studies of the metallomembrane, including the tight binding of Cu2+ and other first row transition metal ions to lipids in bilayer membranes containing amine groups such as phosphatidylserine and phosphatidylethanolamine.

Cremer has written over 125 papers and given over 250 invited lectures. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Beckman Young Investigator Award, the Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, a Sloan Fellowship, a Dreyfus Fellowship, the Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research, and the Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Science. He is currently an associate editor for J. Am. Chem. Soc. as well as a fellow of the American Chemical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.