• Lunch at the ANACHEM / SAS Symposium
  • Honoring the 2015 ANACHEM Award Recipient, Jonathan V. Sweedler
  • The ANACHEM / SAS Symposium
  • Honoring the 2014 ANACHEM Award Recipient, David E. Clemmer

Upcoming Events

Click on Event for More Information

September 13, 2018: R. S. Houk – ICP Spectroscopy: Something Old, Something NewPosted August 16, 2018

Dr. R. S. Houk
Ames Laboratory USDOE
Department of Chemistry
Iowa State University, Ames IA 50011 USA

Thursday, September 13th, 2018
6:00 pm – Talk
Dinner afterwards at Aubree’s Grill

Eastern Michigan University
Halle Library, Rm 300
955 W. Circle Dr.
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Joint Meeting With Detroit-ACS and Detroit-SAS

Abstract: This talk will survey the development of analytical atomic spectroscopy since the advent of atomic absorption in the early 1960s. It will emphasize the history of the inductively coupled plasma (ICP) for both atomic emission and atomic mass spectrometry. Current status and recent developments in both ICP spectroscopies will be surveyed. The latter include interesting applications such as a) detection and sizing of inorganic nanoparticles, b) application of specialized ICP time of flight mass spectrometers for analysis of metal tags on single biological cells, and c) use of ICP magnetic sector MS for discovery of new superheavy elements. Possible areas of improvement in ICP-MS will be suggested.

Biographical Sketch: Robert Samuel Houk was born in New Castle Pennsylvania and attended Shenango Area High School. He received the B. S. in Secondary Education from Slippery Rock State College in 1974 and the Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Iowa State University in 1980. His dissertation described the first results from coupling an analytical ICP to a mass spectrometer. He was a postdoctoral associate at the Ames Laboratory U. S. Department of Energy and then joined the faculty in the Chemistry Department at ISU in 1981. He is presently Professor of Chemistry and an Associate of the Ames Laboratory. His research is in analytical atomic spectrometry, especially ICP-MS, and also in electrospray laser desorption mass spectrometry. Houk has served on various editorial boards, e.g., JAAS and Spectrochimica Acta Part B. He has won a number of awards including the ACS Awards for Chemical Instrumentation (1993) and Spectrochemical Analysis (2012), the ANACHEM Award (2000), the Wilkinson Teaching Award from ISU (1993), and the Winter Conference Award in Plasma Spectrochemistry (2018).

Location and Parking Information:  An Eastern Michigan University map with parking and building locations is available here: www.emich.edu/parking/documents/2017-campus-map.pdf.

November 1st, 2018: ANACHEM / SAS SymposiumPosted August 16, 2018

The 2018 ANACHEM / SAS Symposium will be held on Thursday, November 1st, 2018 at Burton Manor (www.burtonmanor.net) in Livonia, MI. The site is easily accessible from interstate highway I-96.  A plenary lecture will be given by Dr. James Reilly, Professor of Chemistry at Indiana University.  The Symposium will include a special academic session, “Leaders in Research” in which four professors will present their outstanding research.  This year’s symposium will also include three oral sessions devoted to research at the academic institutions in our region.  Additionally, two oral sessions for “industrial research” will be included as an integral part of the symposium; the sessions are described in more detail below. An instrument exhibit, two educational workshops, and a poster session and are also important parts of this annual symposium on chemical analysis. A preliminary outline is included below. Register online in advance for a discounted rate.  See our Symposium page for more information!

View the events archive

Recent News

Click on News Item for More Information

Check out SciX-2018: Atlanta, Georgia, October 21-26, 2018Posted April 26, 2018

The SciX-2018 conference (https://www.scixconference.org/), presented by FACSS, will take place at the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta, GA, Oct. 21-26, 2018. Leading researchers will convene to present their cutting edge developments in analytical sciences, instrumentation, and unique applications. The SciX meeting hosts a world-class exhibition, presentations from leading scientists, educational courses, and many networking opportunities.

Susan Lunte Receives the 2018 ANACHEM AwardPosted April 26, 2018

Susan Lunte
Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Director, Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry
University of Kansas

Susan M. Lunte is the Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Director of the Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry at the University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS. She is a fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the Royal Society of Chemistry. In 2004, Dr. Lunte was the recipient of the AAPS Research Achievement Award in Analysis and Pharmaceutical Quality. She was awarded a Science Foundation of Ireland Walton Fellowship through Dublin City University in 2006. Susan was the chair of the Analytical Division of the American Chemical Society in 2011. She is currently the Associate Editor for the Americas for Analytical Methods. Her research interests include the development of microfluidic-based methodologies for separation and detection of peptides, amino acids, neurotransmitters and pharmaceuticals in biological fluids.

Jennifer S. Brodbelt Receives the 2017 ANACHEM AwardPosted August 31, 2017

Dr. Jennifer S. Brodbelt, the Norman Hackerman Chaired Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin, is the recipient of the 2017 ANACHEM Award.  Dr. Brodbelt earned her B.S. degree in chemistry at the University of Virginia and her doctorate in chemistry at Purdue University under the supervision of Prof. Graham Cooks. After a post-doctoral position at the University of California at Santa Barbara, she began her academic career at the University of Texas. Her research interests focus on the development and application of photodissociation mass spectrometry for characterization of the structures and modifications of biological molecules, including peptides, proteins, nucleic acids, oligosaccharides, and lipids. She serves as an Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry and recently served as President of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry.

View the post archive